Full Site Editing – What you need to know about it now

The year 2022 starts with a big change for WordPress. The so-called Full Site Editing has been an official part of the content management system since the release of “Josephine” version 5.9 (01/25/22). This is an innovation that continues what began a few years ago with the block editor and the Project Gutenberg. Here you can find out what exactly is behind it and what consequences it has for the development of new websites.

From Gutenberg to Full Site Editing

Full Site Editing has the potential to change website creation with  WordPress permanently. It is the next logical step in an evolution initiated with Project Gutenberg. At that time, the standard text editor was scrapped and replaced by a whole new user interface: the block editor.

The so-called blocks were created from the original idea to improve  blog post creation for users without HTML knowledge. These are building blocks such as text or image elements. These can be edited and moved within pages or posts with the mouse using the editor. What started as a rudimentary feature has quickly evolved into the standard of new WordPress versions.

Now, this principle is to be expanded. Full Site Editing makes it possible to create entire pages with the blocks.

The new WordPress vision

The big goal of WordPress remains to take advantage of your content management system like

  • flexible expansion through plug-ins
  • high adaptability with Custom Post Types
  • easy assignment of user roles
  • very active open source community

With the comfortable WYSIWYG functions of modern website construction kits. The possibility of making design changes directly visible and not having to switch to a preview mode is already possible with Gutenberg. Until now it was limited to individual pages and blog posts. If you wanted to design global page parts in this way, you had to access widgets or special functions in the customizer.

This is how Full Site Editing works in practice

Similar to providers such as WIX/Squarespace and Jimdo, Full Site Editing should also allow more complex layouts to be created using a drag and drop user interface. Whether header, footer, or sidebar – the blocks can be used everywhere.

The CMS already offers an extensive repertoire of building blocks, such as

  • accordions
  • videos
  • sliders
  • lists
  • headlines
  • galleries
  • buttons

That simplifies the design process. The reusable blocks, which can be created once and copied as often as you like, are particularly useful. The highlight: Changes to the original block are applied to the whole page. In this way, for example, opening hours can be updated on all subpages with just one click.

Additional blocks can be added by plugins or simply programmed by yourself. The API of version 5.9 offers new possibilities for this.

Full Site Editing now makes it possible to design all website elements in this way. This is noticeable when you want to create a new landing page, for example. The header can now be removed or changed like a normal block without leaving the page view and changing the display of other pages.

This saves time during the design process and reduces the risk of destroying entire pages.

Discover the Benefits of Full Site Editing!

Consequences for the WordPress ecosystem

For WordPress website building, the advent of Full Site Editing means that page builders may become less important.

Although these systems currently offer even more options than blocks, and in some cases also offer better usability for designers, they come with their own disadvantages:

Cost

Recurring license fees for premium plugins and themes cost more than free onboard tools.

Locked-in effect

Switching from a premium theme often means that content has to be completely redesigned as the systems are incompatible.

Security

The WordPress core is more secure the fewer additional components are added.

Performance

The complex page builders in particular generate a lot of additional code, which makes the website slow and difficult for search engines to understand.

Maintenance

 When using external themes and plugins, as a site owner the site operator is heavily dependent on their updates and patches.

What applies to page builders can also be used to classic premium themes. With a self-created custom theme or a WordPress standard theme that supports Full Site Editing, you are flexible in the design of your website, and independent of external providers.

Disadvantages of Full Site Editing

Full Site Editing is at such an early stage that feedback from real-world users needs to be collected on a regular basis. Its full potential will only unfold with the upcoming updates.

Anyone who wants to use Full Site Editing needs a compatible theme at this stage. However,  the choice is still very limited. Besides the default variant, only a few are also available for purchase.

Of course, it is already possible to program your own custom theme and blocks for it. Anyone who makes an effort, you need the know-how and invest time in a feature that is not yet really being used.

Full Site Editing: A pioneering development

With WordPress version 5.9 “Josephine,” Full Site Editing is finally an integral part of the core functions. The use only requires a compatible theme. The included default theme Twenty Twenty-Two is one of them. This means that creating entire pages based on Gutenberg blocks is now possible without the use of additional plugins but remains optional.

The feature promises improved workflows and more agile development of WordPress sites. In this way, the CMS provides an increasingly complete ecosystem of building blocks, which makes it more independent of third-party providers who create themes or plugins. This will  positively impact the security and performance of WordPress sites.

The forward-thinking evolution of the open source project, which has long dominated the market for content management systems, shows that WordPress can continue to be used in the future.

At the moment, Full Site Editing is still in its infancy, but similar to the Gutenberg editor, it has great chances of establishing itself in the long term.

The Inpsyde team is looking forward to accompanying this development from the beginning.

Do you want us to create your WordPress experience?

We are proud of our Clients

Full Site Editing – Was Sie jetzt darüber wissen müssen

Das Jahr 2022 beginnt für WordPress mit einer großen Änderung. Das sogenannte Full Site Editing ist seit dem Release von Version 5.9 „Josephine“ (25.01.22) offizieller Bestandteil des Content Management Systems. Damit findet eine Neuerung Einzug, die konsequent weiterführt, was vor ein paar Jahren mit dem Block Editor und dem Projekt Gutenberg begann. Was genau sich dahinter verbirgt und welche Konsequenzen daraus für die Entwicklung neuer Websites resultiert, erfahren Sie hier.

Von Gutenberg zum Full Site Editing

Full Site Editing hat das Potenzial, die Website-Erstellung mit WordPress nachhaltig zu verändern. Es ist der nächste logische Schritt in einer Entwicklung, die mit dem Projekt Gutenberg eingeleitet wurde. Damals wurde der Standard-Editor für Texte über Bord geworfen und durch eine ganz neue Benutzeroberfläche ersetzt: dem Block Editor. 

Aus der ursprünglichen Idee, das Erstellen von Blogbeiträgen für Nutzer ohne HTML-Kenntnisse zu verbessern, entstanden die sogenannten Blocks. Dabei handelt es sich um Bausteine wie Text- oder Bild-Elemente. Diese können über den Editor innerhalb von Seiten oder Beiträgen mit der Maus bearbeitet und verschoben werden. Was als rudimentäres Feature begann, hat sich durch eine schnelle Weiterentwicklung zum Standard neuer WordPress-Versionen etabliert.

Nun soll dieses Prinzip ausgebaut werden. Das Full Site Editing macht es möglich, mit den Blocks ganze Seiten zu erstellen.

Die neue WordPress-Vision

Das große Ziel von WordPress bleibt, die Vorteile Ihres Content Management Systems wie

  • flexible Erweiterung durch Plugins,
  • hohe Anpassbarkeit mit Custom Post Types,
  • einfache Vergabe von Benutzerrollen oder
  • sehr aktive Open Source-Community

mit den komfortablen WYSIWYG-Funktionen moderner Website-Baukästen zu kombinieren. Die Möglichkeit, Designänderungen direkt sichtbar zu machen und nicht extra in einen Vorschaumodus wechseln zu müssen, ist mit Gutenberg zwar schon möglich, war aber bis jetzt auf einzelne Seiten und Blogbeiträge beschränkt. Wer auf diese Weise globale Seitenteile gestalten wollte, musste auf Widgets oder spezielle Funktionen im Customizer zurückgreifen. 

So funktioniert Full Site Editing in der Praxis

Ähnlich zu Anbietern wie WIX/Squarespace und Jimdo sollen durch das Full Site Editing auch komplexere Layouts per Drag&Drop-Benutzeroberfäche erstellt werden können. Ob Header, Footer oder Sidebar – überall werden die Blocks zum Einsatz kommen können.

Schon jetzt bietet das Content-Management-System ein umfangreiches Repertoire an Bausteinen wie

  • Akkordeons,
  • Videos,
  • Slider,
  • Listen,
  • Überschriften,
  • Galerien oder
  • Buttons,

die den Designprozess vereinfachen. Besonders nützlich sind dabei die wiederverwendbaren Blocks, die einmal erstellt und beliebig oft kopiert werden können. Der Clou dabei: Änderungen am ursprünglichem Block werden auf der ganzen Site übernommen. Auf diese Weise lassen sich zum Beispiel Öffnungszeiten auf allen Unterseiten mit nur einem Klick aktualisieren. 

Weitere Blocks können durch Plugins hinzugefügt oder einfach selbst programmiert werden. Die API der Version 5.9 bietet dazu neue Möglichkeiten. 

Full Site Editing macht es nun möglich, alle Elemente einer Website auf diese Weise zu gestalten. Das macht sich schon bemerkbar, wenn man beispielsweise eine neue Landingpage kreieren möchte. Der Header kann jetzt wie ein normaler Block entfernt oder geändert werden, ohne die Seitenansicht zu verlassen und die Darstellung anderer Seiten mit zu verändern.

Das spart Zeit während des Designprozesses und verringert die Gefahr, ganze Seiten zu zerschießen.

Erfahren Sie mehr über die Vorteile von Full Site Editing!

Konsequenzen für das WordPress-Ökosystem

Für die Erstellung von WordPress-Websites bedeutet die Einführung des Full Site Editings, dass PageBuilder an Bedeutung verlieren könnten.

Diese Systeme bieten zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt zwar noch mehr Möglichkeiten als die Blocks, und bieten teilweise auch eine bessere Bedienbarkeit für Designer, bringen aber ihre eigenen Nachteile mit sich:

Kosten

Wiederkehrende Lizenzgebühren für Premium-Plugins und -Themes verursachen mehr Kosten als kostenlose Onboard-Tools

Lock-In-Effekt

Von einem Premium-Theme zu wechseln bedeutet häufig, dass Inhalte ganz neu gestaltet werden müssen, da die Systeme nicht miteinander kompatibel sind

Sicherheit

Der WordPress-Kern ist desto sicherer, je weniger zusätzliche Komponenten hinzugefügt werden

Performance

Gerade die aufwändigen PageBuilder erzeugen sehr viel zusätzlichen Code, der die Website langsam macht und für Suchmaschinen schwerer zu verstehen ist

Wartung

Bei der Nutzung von externen Themes und Plugins ist man als Seitenbetreiber stark von deren Updates und Patches abhängig

Was für die Nutzung von PageBuildern gilt, lässt sich auch auf klassische Premium-Themes übertragen. Mit einem selbsterstellen Custom-Theme oder einem WordPress Standard-Theme, das Full Site Editing unterstützt, ist man nicht nur flexibel in der Gestaltung seiner Website, sondern auch unabhängig von externen Anbietern.

Nachteile des Full Site Editings

Full Site Editing ist noch in einer so früheren Phase, dass das Feedback von Praxisanwendern regelmäßig eingeholt werden muss. Sein volles Potenzial wird sich erst mit den kommenden Updates entfalten.

Wer zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt auf Full Site Editing setzen möchte, braucht ein kompatibles Theme. Die Auswahl ist aber noch sehr begrenzt. Neben der Default-Variante gibt es nur wenige, die auch zum Kauf angeboten werden. 

Selbstverständlich ist es jetzt schon möglich, ein eigenes Custom-Theme sowie eigene Blöcke dafür zu programmieren. Wer sich die Mühe macht, braucht das Know-how und muss Zeit in ein Feature investieren, das noch nicht richtig zum Tragen kommt.

Full Site Editing: Eine zukunftsweisende Entwicklung

Mit der WordPress-Version 5.9 „Josephine“ ist das Full Site Editing endlich fester Bestandteil der Kernfunktionen. Die Nutzung setzt lediglich ein kompatibles Theme voraus. Das mitgelieferte Default-Theme Twenty Twenty-Two gehört dazu. Damit ist die Erstellung von ganzen Seiten auf der Basis der Gutenberg Blocks ab jetzt und ohne die Nutzung weiterer Plugins zwar möglich, bleibt aber optional. 

Das Feature verspricht verbesserten Workflow und eine agilere Entwicklung von WordPress-Seiten. So liefert das Content Management System ein immer vollständigeres Ökosystems an Bausteinen, welches es unabhängiger von Drittanbietern macht, die Themes oder Plugins erstellen. Das wird sich positiv auf die Sicherheit und Performance von WordPress-Seiten auswirken.

Die zukunftsorientierte Weiterentwicklung des Open Source-Projekts, welches den Markt an Content Management Systemen seit langem dominiert, zeigt, dass man auch in Zukunft auf WordPress setzen kann.

Zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt steckt das Full Site Editing zwar noch in den Kinderschuhen, hat aber ähnlich zum Gutenberg Editor große Chancen, sich langfristig durchzusetzen. 

Das Inpsyde-Team freut sich darauf, diese Entwicklung von Anfang an zu begleiten.

Wir sollen Ihre WordPress experience erschaffen?

Wir sind stolz auf unsere Kunden